What I’ve been reading at work

This is another installment of lunchtime blogging, bringing you the books I’ve been reading for the past week or so at work.  As though I don’t have enough books squirreled away at home that need reading, I also hold books aside here at work to look at and read them when I can.  It’s an illness for which there is no cure.

40. Names My Sisters Call Me, by Megan Crane (5 Spot, 2008).  Nice light chick lit, which is usually not my thing, but I liked the letter in a Shelf Awareness ad and it has a cute cover so I ordered it in.  The almost boilerplate archetypes got on my nerves, but other than that I liked the story.  Would be a great recommendation to somebody who needs something for the beach or an airplane ride.

41. Love and Consequences, by Margaret B. Jones (Riverhead/Penguin, 2008).  It is, of course, easy to say this in hindsight, but seriously, this book is fake as all get out.  It is, in fact, offensively fake.  There’s nothing to say about this that hasn’t already been said a couple dozen times, but really, it is embarrassing to the publishing industry on multiple levels that nobody caught this one.  It took me forever to finish because I was so not into it, and I finally just finished it out of spite.  The saddest thing about the whole mess is that Jones is actually a really good writer.

42. The China Price: The True Cost of Chinese Competitive Advantage, by Alexandra Harney (Penguin Press, 2008).  This is the best book I’ve read about the way business is done in China, and why it is hard to change.  Harney writes very compellingly about the ways in which the current business structure is bad for almost everybody, not just Americans and not just Chinese.  Great first-person research combined with an impressive grasp on the minutiae and the big picture of China studies.  Also, because China is so crucial to the current global supply chain, this book would probably be interesting to people who want to learn more about the effects of globalization on business, but who also do not want to be bored out of their socks.  Definitely highly recommended.  If there are any booksellers out there who are doing the Lonely Planet promotion (we are!), this would be a great addition to that display.

And I’m currently in the middle of When Men Become Gods, which in a quirk of good timing, arrived from MPS yesterday.  It’s about the fundamentalist Mormon church.  Originally, I was just going to skim it, but it’s too interesting, so I am reading it for real.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

