BEA: Saturday (pictures)

Well, as you can tell from the last post, Saturday was just a blur. But here are some pictures to document that blur.

Convention Center

This is the outside of the LA convention center, which is massive.

This is what one of the floors, the smaller of the two, looks like (in part).

Chains

A stack of Chains galleys, this upcoming book by a certain author whose name escapes me at the moment.

Stan Lee

In the craziest random sighting of BEA, Stan Lee. Talk about random. The only reason he was the craziest, though, is because I missed both Leonard Nimoy AND William Shatner (curses on my head!). I am still kicking myself about that. I did get a glimpse of Slash, though.

Bookazine

A poster from Bookazine’s booth. Bookazine (who I believe are the oldest independent wholesaler in the country) is much beloved in my store, on account of it is awesome.

From Workman party: Tom Moon, author of the forthcoming 1000 Recordings to Listen to Before You Die, which was described to me by another bookseller as “literary crack.”

Rufus Butler Seder

From same party, the delightful Rufus Butler Seder, designer/author of Gallop. He is just as much fun as the book!

Barry Lyga

Barry Lyga, who I <3, author of The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl and Boy Toy, both of which are great books (even if Boy Toy is a little tricky to sell). I grabbed an ARC of Hero-Type, his newest, which I already read, couldn’t help myself, and will blog soon (spoiler: it was great).

Jeff Smith and Art Spiegelman

O my lawd, that’s Jeff Smith! And behind us is Art Speigelman! Ahhhhhhh! That breakfast was great (the conversation, anyway; the food left a great deal to be desired), as an aside. When I find the papers on which I scribbled notes, I’ll post a few of the quotes.

Jill and I

I’ll end it with this Bookavore and friend of Bookavore, Jill of Square Books Jr. Both a little drunk, both a lot exhausted, both happy as clams.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

