In-store update

Lots of goings-on here in the store.  We’re gearing up to finally have a sizable manga section and expand our graphic novel section (YAY!), so I’ve been working on those opening orders piecemeal all day.  Suggestions welcome; so far my order is based around the most popular series.  This expansion is being accompanied by a big floor and shelving move in the kids’ department that will probably take the better part of the month to get completely done.  And we have a ton of great events coming up, including a midnight release for Breaking Dawn, the latest Twilight book, and a big big big children’s author in October.

On top of all this, I thought it would be a great time to start up a weekly e-newsletter from the store, to go out every Tuesday morning.  Head Buyer named it The Bookmark, which seemed overly simple to me at first, but it has since grown on me.  We’ve been shocked by the great response!  I thought people were so sick of email that we’d have half the list unsubscribe, but we’ve only had a few people drop it.  And surprisingly, we even had people ask to be added to the list.  In a personal triumph, I even got an email from a customer saying how impressed she was!  So, definitely worth losing a piece of my Monday.  I’ll gladly add you to it as well–just email my work email (stephanie at moravianbookshop dot com).

O yeah, and I think I almost understand co-op, thanks to Melissa Lion and a boatload of prompt and brilliant sales reps.  Melissa kindly provided her notes from her days in co-op, which helped settle a lot of random questions I had.  Thanks Melissa!  Then I wrote an email to all my big reps Wednesday, and by Friday I had heard from almost everybody at least once–giving me more information and ideas, answering my questions, and being excited for me that we’re finally doing it.  ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ my sales reps!

Link of the day, sent from NAIBA: an intriguing article by Nicki Leone, a former/current bookseller, on her idea of the perfect online bookstore.  Very intriguing for those of us looking to the future decades of bookselling.

In an attempt to catch up the books I’ve been reading, here are some recent lunchtime reads, one sentence each:

57. Someday This Pain Will Be Useful to You by Peter Cameron (FSG, 2007).  YA fiction.  A sweet and captivating story that is as quiet as its protagonist but also just as powerful.

58. One Perfect Day: The Selling of the American Wedding by Rebecca Mead (The Penguin Press, 2007).  Hahaha, this was my staff pick for my newsletter last week, so I can just cut and paste its description here: “Now that we’re in the thick of wedding season, Mead’s book makes great reading for anybody planning or attending a wedding.  She looks at how the wedding industry grew to its current size (over $160 billion a year!) and what weddings mean in modern-day America. Her writing is funny and well-researched, with fascinating information like the fact that there are occasionally rivalries between Las Vegas wedding chapels, and that the diamond engagement ring didn’t become traditional until after World War II. This might not make a good wedding present, but you could slip it to the mother of the bride or the maid of honor!”  Let me just add that if you are trying to convince somebody to elope, rather than have a wedding, this would be a good choice.

59. The Facebook Book: A Satirical Companion by Greg Atwan & Evan Lushing, illustrated by Aurora Andrews (Abrams Image, just out).  I mean, this is pretty funny if you use Facebook, which I do; not sure if it would make sense to the other 85% of the country.  But then, it’s not supposed to.  (Why, I remember when my college had to sign a petition to get ourselves on Facebook!  And then we had to walk to dinner barefoot in the snow uphill both ways!  And then we all felt silly when the whole world could get on Facebook without any trouble 18 months later!  I’m just never sure who will buy a book like this, because though it’s funny, I don’t think I’d read it again.  On the other hand, I wasn’t sure who would buy The Truth About Chuck Norris, and we’ve sold 75 copies of that since November.  So clearly I know nothing about the appeal of novelty books about the internet.)

I swear I’ll blog the rest of the great unread masses soon.  It’s just that when I get home from work, I prefer to read books, rather than write about them.  Which probably explains why I have chosen bookselling, rather than book reviewing, as a career.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

