Three cool links

First, a new bookselling blog I really like: TheHappyNappyBookseller.  I especially love her term “all dayer” for a certain type of customer, and will be using it at work at the first possible opportunity (I’m guessing the first five minutes after we open tomorrow, that opportunity will arise).

Second, this is one of the most interesting articles I’ve read about ANYTHING in awhile.  Luckily, it’s about books, so I can share it here.  Amitava Kumar writes about South Asian political novels, authenticity, “the real India,” and why he couldn’t finish Aravind Adiga’s The White Tiger.  He also makes me really want to read An Exploding Case of Mangoes.  Similar arguments that I think of to defend why, no matter how many people recommend it to me, I will not read Memoirs of a Geisha, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, or any other book like that.

Third, a former professor sent me this link, a post about what people find in used books.  I have found some cool things before myself, as part of my job is ordering and recieving out-of-print books for customers.  The two most interesting things I have found in used books are: 1. a decades-old train ticket from Hungary (tucked inside a Hungarian phrasebook; I think it’s still on my desk somewhere) and 2. a folder full of military discharge papers from WWII, photos, and various reunion paraphenelia.  They were inside a big hardcover book about military orders and medals and so on.  I think someone must have sold or donated the book after the man died, and didn’t realize all that was in there.  I tried to find a way to get it back to the family, but to no avail.  I still haven’t been able to bring myself to get rid of it.

2 comments so far

  1. Doret on

    Thanks for the link. Librarians have cornered the market of the term irregular regulars, booksellers need something too.

  2. nylusmilk on

    thanks for the link love! what interesting finds you had! they missed out on you for the interview. 😉


Leave a Reply

