Clarification

As I am not a professional satirist, I feel obligated to point out that I do not, actually, believe that booksellers should be able to invoke “rule of conscience.”  I am a strong believer in that famous quote oft-mis-attributed to Voltaire: “I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.”   Just wanted to point out how ridiculous a rule of conscience is at all!

1 comment so far

  1. jmcc on

    I thought your satire came through – even if you aren’t a professional!
    The ideas of freedom of speech/censorship/acting on conscience are all interesting as they play out in the world of bookselling – especially Indiebounders.
    I think the luxury and responsibility we have is to keep those conversations open for (with) the public.


Leave a Reply

