Bookavore in Brooklyn

It’s true, as you might already know from Twitter (@bookavore)–I am now officially in Brooklyn!  After a whole bunch of hassle, including two trips on the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway in a 15-foot moving truck and an anxious 24 hours of the broker and landlady telling me different things about having the cats, things are feeling more settled.

So, that taken care of, I have a project that was borne out of an IndieBound meeting at Winter Institute (don’t know if I’ll have time to blog about WI4, but I did twitter a bunch of it, as did a number of people).  Here is the main gist, with details to follow later in the week.  I’d like to lead a concerted effort on the part of independent booksellers and the people who love them to ask bloggers to join the IndieBound affiliate program and link IndieBound alongside Amazon links when reviewing or discussing a book. In other words, right now on the Internet, 95 times out of 100 if a book is discussed there is a hyperlink to its Amazon page.  I think indies lose a lot of potential sales that way, especially from the up-and-coming generation of tech-literate readers.  I’m not asking anyone to stop linking to Amazon.  I just want to be linked alongside, so that readers can choose to click where they prefer to shop.

My personal feeling is that indies are way underrepresented in the blogosphere, even among blogs that support localism and sustainability.  I think this is due in large part to the fact that nobody knows that IndieBound has an affiliate program, or they aren’t familiar with how it works.  I also think that, like many things IndieBound, many people will be very receptive to the idea if it is explained concisely and politely.  So, this is what I’d like to do–to start here, and get bigger if the Internet sees fit.  What do you think?  Would you be interested in participating in such a movement?  What tools would you want?  I was intending to write up some basic talking points, and in the comments of that post, have people post the blogs they’ve written to.

So let me know what you think, and also think about which blogs you read on a regular basis that don’t link to IndieBound but you wish did.  For example, some of my top candidates are Boing Boing, Feministing, and Shakespeare’s Sister.  I’m hoping that amongst us, we have readers from across the Internet–mommy blogs, pet blogs, military blogs, technology blogs, media blogs, and so on.  Thoughts?

3 comments so far

  1. Jessica on

    Good lord, Stephanie, this has been on my to-do list for who knows how long — even just to send out an email to the bloggers I know explaining that this is an option. Leave it to you to take the initiative. Let’s come up with a blogger-targeted set of language about being an IndieBound affiliate, and send it out as often as we can. Hooray for Brooklyn indies!

  2. Rebecca on

    Hear, hear! I’ll help corral New England.
    East Coast, represent!

  3. Laurie Halse Anderson on

    I’ll be on it in tomorrow’s blog.


Leave a Reply

